

## **President's Report**



The core mission of the Ashby Land Trust is to preserve the natural resources and rural character of Ashby. This year the Land Trust began working on protecting two properties. Conservation protection takes time, but we are very pleased to report that we completed the acquisition of 5.5 acres of beautiful wetland in the southeast part of town. We express our sincere gratitude to the donors, Ian and Laurie Douglas, who wished to preserve land that was special to their family. Thanks also to the Board's Land Protection team for their work, especially Cedwyn Morgan who headed up the project. Our second preservation project began in early 2018 and hasn't been completed yet, but during 2019 we are anticipating receiving a conservation restriction (CR) on 35 acres of forest and stream that abut state-owned conservation land.

Longtime Board member and former President Alan Ewald retired this year. We thank him for his work. Tiffany Call was elected to her first three-year term and we are delighted to welcome her. The Board retained Attorney Charles Vander Linden to assist us with our legal affairs. We are approaching the end of our five-year Accreditation and have been exploring the feasibility of applying for Accreditation Renewal. Mike McCallum and I went to Saratoga Springs in the spring for a fruitful discussion with a representative of the Accreditation Commission. The Board will make a formal decision in early 2019.

The Ashby Land Trust is also committed to engaging families in learning about and enjoying the natural world. This summer we sponsored a fascinating and child friendly program on bats, presented by Mass Audubon Society. We plan to continue our theme of "Bats, Bees, and Butterflies" into next year's programming.

Following the success of our 2<sup>nd</sup> annual Duck Derby, our flock of intrepid rubber ducks has continued to prosper. Nature reconfigured the course last spring by washing away the footbridge overlooking the race course, but the ducks were not daunted. Over 400 strong, they swept down Willard Brook navigating treacherous rapids and eddies to the finish line in Damon Pond. No bystanders fell in and six lucky ducks won prizes. Thanks as ever to Duck Master Doug Leab, to our sponsors, supporters, and crew.

The flock has grown substantially over the year, in response to enthusiastic donors. Come enjoy the fun again this year as even more determined ducks take to the water for the 4<sup>th</sup> Annual Duck Derby! This year's Derby will be held on **Sunday, May 5 at Damon Pond**. **Post Time is 1:00 pm**.

Please join me in thanking our devoted Board of Directors again this year. Board members attend meetings, handle the finances, monitor and protect land, plan and execute public programs, lead hikes, and handle all the tasks of sustaining a viable, accredited land trust. It is an honor and a privilege to be a part of such a group. Jeanie Lindquist, President.



## Board & Members for 2018

Board Members
Jeanie Lindquist,
President
Sue Chapman,
Vice President
Doug Leab, Treasurer
Rebecca Walsh,
Clerk
Janet Flinkstrom
Bob Leary
Mike McCallum
Cedwyn Morgan

Lifetime Members Bill Annold Janet Morrison

Sponsors Henry Moulton

Tiffany Call

Supporters
Chris Allen
Gary & Diana Baer
Robert & Marina Bertram
Ken & Karen Brown
Ewald Family
Doug Leab
Bob Leary & Janet Flinkstrom
Jeanie Lindquist & Michael McCallum
Julie & Dave McIntyre
Mike & Anne ReggiO
Judith & Mark Sumner

Family & Individual
Tim & Sally Bauman
Bob Bedard
Berlinger Family
Sue Chapman
Ron & Teresa Coyle-Airey
Stephanie Cassano & Alfred Crocker

Stackhouse Eric Evans & Conna Weiner Roberta Flashman Rod Gaudreau Evie & Garry Gleckel James Grådy Mark & Nancy Haines Al Futterman & Deidre Haynie Sheldon & Kathy Herrick-Bob & Betsy Higgins-Steele Sussie Holzberlein Krishnabai Cathy Kristofferson John & Claire Lavin Donna Leonard Tiffany Call & Matt Leonard Jerry Manney Matthew & Carol McKew

Wm Davis, Joan Jason, Erick

McNeil Family John & Vicki Mickola Cedwyn & Martha Morgan Richard Muehlke Mike & Margaret Mullins Chris Nash John Pankosky Alan & Lorraine Pease Norm & JoAnn Pierce James Piper Lois & Bob Raymond Dorthea Rourke Cec Snow & Clare Deucher Kate Stacy Wayne & Linda Stacy Marion Stoddart Lennart & Grace Swanson Scott & Ingrid Sweeney Rebecca Walsh